2014 Jacobi Medallion Honorees

Seven physician-leaders at the Mount Sinai Health System were honored recently with the 2014 Jacobi Medallion, the highest award bestowed by The Mount Sinai Alumni for excellence in patient care, research, and mentorship.

At a gala held in their honor at The Plaza on Thursday, March 27, Dennis S. Charney, MD, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, and President for Academic Affairs, Mount Sinai Health System, commended the seven recipients on their achievements. Calling the physicians “the magnificent seven,” he said, “they have brought us to the forefront of American medicine.”

Scott L. Friedman, MD, Dean for Therapeutic Discovery and Chief of the Division of Liver Diseases, Irene and Dr. Arthur M. Fishberg Professor of Medicine

Dr. Friedman’s scientific focus is on the biological causes of fibrosis, associated with chronic liver disease. A Senior Fulbright Scholar and Visiting Professor at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, Dr. Friedman has been recognized as Master Educator by Mount Sinai, and was awarded the European Association for the Study of Liver Diseases International Recognition Award.

Martin S. Goldstein, MD, Associate Clinical Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Science

Dr. Goldstein’s career accomplishments include introducing gynecologic laparoscopy to The Mount Sinai Hospital, and his early work in tumor immunology. He served as President of the Mount Sinai Alumni and chaired the Development Committee, positions that enabled him to create innovative programs and increase scholarships for Mount Sinai students.

Adrian Greenstein, MD, Professor of Surgery, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

A worldwide authority on inflammatory bowel disease, Dr. Greenstein has pioneered surgeries for complex fistulizing and obstructing Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. He has authored more than 140 peer-reviewed articles and 30 textbook chapters, mostly on inflammatory bowel disease.

Barbara Murphy, MB, BAO, BCh, FRCPI, Chair of the Samuel Bronfman Department of Medicine, Murray M. Rosenberg Professor of Medicine

Dr. Murphy is the first female chair of medicine at an academic medical center in New York City, and also serves as Dean of Clinical Integration and Population Health at the Mount Sinai Health System. She is best known for her groundbreaking work in transplant immunology, with a focus on genomics in determining outcomes in transplantation and the immunomodulatory role of MHC-derived peptides.

David L. Reich, MD, President and Chief Operating Officer, The Mount Sinai Hospital, and President, Mount Sinai Queens

Dr. Reich began his anesthesia training at Mount Sinai in 1984, and has held several leadership roles within the Mount Sinai community. He is the Horace W. Goldsmith Professor of Anesthesiology, and served as Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology from 2004 to 2014. He also served as President of Mount Sinai’s Medical Board from 2011 to 2012. He has published extensively in journals and textbooks and has co-edited three books.

Lynne D. Richardson, MD, Professor of Emergency Medicine, and Health Evidence and Policy, and Vice Chair for Academic, Research, and Community Programs of the Department of Emergency Medicine at The Mount Sinai Hospital

Dr. Richardson launched Mount Sinai’s Emergency Medicine Residency Program in 1996, and helped develop it into a premier training program. She is a leading emergency care researcher, and her Research Division is ranked No . 5 in National Institutes of Health funding. An expert and advocate for reducing health care disparities and improving access to care, Dr. Richardson currently Chairs the Centers for Disease Control ACD Health Disparities Subcommittee.

Lester Silver, MD, MS, Professor and Vice-Chairman, Department of Surgery, Chief of Plastic Surgery, and Director, Plastic Surgery Residency Program

Dr. Silver is a leader in plastic surgery, and is actively involved with many of the world’s prominent plastic surgery societies. His particular interest is in children’s reconstructive surgery at home and abroad. As a member of the International Scholar Program of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, he has helped young plastic surgeons from abroad gain advanced specialty training in the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email will not be published. Name and Email fields are required.