Convocation 2013 Honors Excellence

Ten faculty members were named endowed professors at the 2013 Convocation Ceremony on Monday, September 30, an event that marks the beginning of the academic year for the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. The honorees, renowned in their respective fields—including allergy and immunology, cancer research, neuroscience, nephrology, otolaryngology, translational genetics, and transplant immunology—comprised the largest group named at one time at Mount Sinai.

Speaking before the ceremony’s attendees in Stern Auditorium, Dennis S. Charney, MD, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, and President for Academic Affairs, Mount Sinai Health System, called the day “momentous.” A few hours earlier, the Boards of Trustees of The Mount Sinai Medical Center and Continuum Health Partners had announced the formation of the Mount Sinai Health System with seven hospital campuses, making it the largest such system in New York State.

At the ceremony, Dr. Charney presented a report on the State of the School, which showed an 11.7 percent increase in National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding in 2013. For more information on Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, go to

Kenneth L. Davis, MD, Chief Executive Officer and President, Mount Sinai Health System, told the audience, “Each year, Convocation brings us together to renew our commitment to education, research, and clinical care—as well as to each other and to this institution. Our future is in our hands. We will continue to grow but in a new way, and with a new strategic vision.”

Peter W. May, Chairman, Boards of Trustees, Mount Sinai Health System, said this year’s Convocation Ceremony was the first since the medical school had been renamed in honor of Mount Sinai Trustee, Carl C. Icahn. The Convocation honorees “exemplify Mount Sinai’s commitment to delivering patient care informed by leading-edge research,” said Mr. May. “Today, it is our privilege to commend not only those whose brilliant work promises to transform the practice of medicine but also those whose partnership and generosity champion this vital work.”

For the first time, five professors were endowed as Ward-Coleman Chairs through the estate of the late Ruth Ward Coleman, a strong and passionate attorney who helped establish the Social Security Administration, and who passed away in 2012 at the age of 110.

In accepting his honor, Eric M. Genden, MD, the newly named Dr. Isidore Friesner Chair of Otolaryngology, said, “I came to Mount Sinai 25 years ago as a student, and to be endowed means so much to me. In 1923, Dr. Friesner initiated the otolaryngology training program. This endowed Chair will stand as a reminder every day of the importance of training our young surgeons.”

Leave a Reply

Your email will not be published. Name and Email fields are required.