A New Archives Exhibit on The Jacobi Medallion of The Mount Sinai Alumni

The Mount Sinai Jacobi Medallion frontArchives has just installed a new display in the exhibit cases in the north lobby of the Annenberg Building titled: The Highest Honor Bestowed by Mount Sinai:The Jacobi Medallion of The Mount Sinai Alumni.

This display highlights the history of the Medallion from its creation in 1952 to today.  There are images of a few recipients, including the first woman, Bella Trachtenberg; the first graduate of MSSM to win, Janice Gabrilove, MD; a Nobel Prize winner, Rosalyn Yalow, Ph.D.; and Jonas Salk, MD, a noted house staff alumnus.  There are also a few items relating to Abraham Jacobi, MD, for whom the medal is named, as well as William Hitzig, MD, the Alumni President who created the award in 1952. 

Please stop in and take a look.  Contact the Archives if you have any questions on this or Mount Sinai history in general.

Comments are closed.